specifics for an in-home family portrait

jawbroken

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there! I'm looking for some advice, as I'm an extreme novice in the photography game. I didn't want to hijack any other threads, and to be honest - the forum is pretty intimidating, so I hope I'm not breaking any rules with this thread.

I'm heading to a friend's house for Christmas dinner, and they recently added a little one to their family. Since I'm a poor college student, I thought I'd use my minimal talents and expensive toys and give them a family portrait for Christmas. I've got the ideas and the equipment, but I'm lacking the skills and the knowledge to give them the best picture possible.

What I'm really concerned with is the lighting. It will probably be close to dark out by the time things get rolling, so I won't be able to use the sunlight to my advantage. I only have the built-in flash on my T1i and their lamps to work with. Can you guys help me with not only the best settings to make this right, but also any tips for lamp placement or any other things I can do to optimize the available light in the room?

I'm no pro, and they know this, but I'd still like to give them something worth blowing up and putting on their wall.

Any help and advice on all aspects of this little project would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Hi there! I'm looking for some advice, as I'm an extreme novice in the photography game. I didn't want to hijack any other threads, and to be honest - the forum is pretty intimidating, so I hope I'm not breaking any rules with this thread.