Sports photography on a budget?

Zoran

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm interested in getting into digital sports photography, specifically football, yet every tutorial I've read on it has said there really is no way to get around the fact that you need extremely fast camera, along with an assortment of lenses. Most seem to say, get a Canon Mark II or don't bother showing up at all. Thing is, being a college student I don't exactly have that kind of money to throw around on hobbies. Is there any kind of in-between camera I can get for around $1k (give or take a couple hundred)? Or will I have to leave the action shots to the pros and relegate myself to sideline shots where everyone is just standing around? Thanks in advance.

Now, im very new to photography, but a master in audio engineering. And when people say "everyone says I need to get an MPC 4000 to make good beats" you know what i tell them? Before the MPC 4000 came out, there was something else people used to make good beats. So im sure there is another camera you can get, I personally got the D200 and am loving it. I do alot of action shots and about 25% of the shots come out perfect. Im sure its that low because I am new, but you get my point. hopefully...

How about a used Canon 20D and a 75-300 f4.5-5.6?

The 20D shoots at 5fps and the lens is good enough for shooting when its not too dark.

Total would be around $1200ish, depending on what you get the 20D for.

.. Most seem to say, get a Canon Mark II or don't bother showing up at all....

The lens is more important than the camera. An excellent camera with a slow lens. Will not be useful as good camera with a sharp fast lens.

you can rent lenses for about 20-30 bucks for a weekend

I actually shoot a lot of sports ... without at least a 2.8 and a Canon ... you are dead. (you're not really dead without a Canon ... but if you're shooting at night you will have to crank up the ISO and Canon has the least amount of noise at higher ISOs of any camera brand.)