Spot Metering Automatic Vs. Manual

FLCKeats

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all,

In short, I had a coworker today tell me that you "don't spot meter on manual mode".

This threw me through a loop. I'm not a beginner, but I'm not advanced, and I've always used various metering modes on manual to achieve the correct exposure.

Any insight? Always down to learn something new.

Thanks!

I'd ask him 'Why not?". Metering modes and exposure modes are not linked. I'm as likely to spot meter in manual as I am to use centre-weighted in aperture-priority. Use whatever gets the result you need.

Her explanation was that: "You only use spot-metering on automatic so that when you meter on the 'spot' you want, the automatic exposure compensates and corrects the rest of the image, as where on manual, you have to go in and fix everything else once that one spot is correctly metered."

Does the coworker claim to know anything about photography? I think you should just keep doing what you need to do, and never mind what that person told you.

Does the coworker claim to know anything about photography? I think you should just keep doing what you need to do, and never mind what that person told you.

That's actually what threw me off. She previously worked at a camera/photography store and produces nice prints. I'm not sure if she's taking an odd stance on this, but I've never heard of her commentaire practiced by any photographer.

Your coworker brings this to mind. N.S.F.W.

Her explanation was that: "You only use spot-metering on automatic so that when you meter on the 'spot' you want, the automatic exposure compensates and corrects the rest of the image, as where on manual, you have to go in and fix everything else once that one spot is correctly metered."

That explanation suggests a fundamental misunderstanding of how cameras work.

Joe

That explanation suggests a fundamental misunderstanding of how cameras work.

Joe