Star Trail Over Suburbia

Hof8231

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Been messing around with long exposure night time photography a bit lately. Not that I don't absolutely love sport photography, because I do and it's my passion first and foremost, but sometimes I feel it can get a bit redundant, so I like to come back to the more "artistic" side of photography if you will. CC always welcome. I'm not very good at this kind of photography but I kind of like how this one turned out. I know the foreground isn't anything special, but I was just messing around in my backyard.

Star Trail Fisheye by SteveH8231, on Flickr

Body: 6D
Lens: Sigma 15mm f/2.8 diagonal fisheye
Set up on Manfrotto tripod/ball head.
124x 30 second exposures. Stacked in Photoshop.

I do the same thing. My passion is surf and wave photography but there aren't always waves so I branch out and try other stuff. I like it of course you have lot of light pollution but since you were just messing around in your yard you knew that. Nice star trails though.

Last edited:
Fantastic shot of the star trails :)

Would you consider turning into a black and white? I think it would look more natural without the color shift. But very nice shot.

I had better results when I cranked the white balance in the blue direction. It made the image more cool in appearance and look more nightly.

I do the same thing. My passion is surf and wave photography but there aren't always waves so I branch out and try other stuff. I like it of course you have lot of light pollution but since you were just messing around in your yard you knew that. Nice star trails though.

Yeah, there's way too much light pollution in my area to really make this kind of photography work. Point the camera south, I pick up pollution from Philly. Point the camera North/Northeast and I get pollution from Trenton, NJ. Still fun to mess around with, though.

Great shot!! Nice work.

Thank you!