stock/color correction check these pro pix

johnnyroc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
these are my dream looks. I understand that to achieve these looks a lot has to do with talent and production design or what's in front of the camera.
I'm mainly asking here about film stock and color correction. Ideally I would love to achieve these looks without PS. That would be amazing. I believe the first one is Chrome64?! I could be wrong. Anything else i need to know? lighting? yes i'm a beginner but won't stop until i can get close to these. My guess is all three use natural light. The second one was shot with a digital camera. I especially am interested in the top one. not composition but the look.

#1 just looks like a blown out snapshot to me. It's a little blue, but I would think 64T would be much more blue. #2 has probably had some blue added, because from the angle of the sun I'm sure the light was warmer in reality than in the photo. #3 just looks horrible. Is that a real live person or a manniquin? Dull lighting and the skin color is awful.

The second one may be taken with a still camera on set, or it might be a crop from a movie still. It's from "Lucía y el Sexo". I'm guessing the third one is a movie still also.

They do all look different to me. In the second one, the colors a higher contrast. In the third, it is rather dull and the colors are muted and off.

Can you describe what the "look" is that you see? One exercise that I found useful was to look through a lot of different types of images. For all the ones that really struck me, write down a bunch of simple descriptive elements. Things like color/b&w, shallow/deep DOF, low/high contrast, overall dark/medium/light image. This will be harder for beginners, since they aren't used to distinguished these things, but it can be done with some help. Once you have your list, count the total times each descriptor shows up. These are the elements of the style that you like, and you can use them in your own images.