Storage of larger photos (8x10, 10x13)

Scotttyd

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am an aspiring photographer (lol) - I go to a few shows here and there and sell a handful prints. My questions is that I like to rotate my better photos through my frames I have for display. What is the best way to store the unframed photos? I use matting and photo bags for the photos for sale, but don't necessarily want to pay for a disposable bag and matt if I plan on on taking it out of them in the future.

I also like to rotate which photos I have on display in my home. What is the best way to store these larger photos to protect them and avoid damage?

thanks

There are archival "sheet protectors" for the 8x10s available from photo stores; maybe something like an Itoya portfolio - I use one (11x17) for my map portflio (I'm a Cartographer/GIS Analyst).

I've never done it but have thought about part of it a couple of times. I would get some acid-free paper a few inches larger than needed. Number each sheet and place one sheet between each photo stacked flat. The numbers would correspond to small copies of the file in the computer. The stack would go in a plastic container that seals up.
I'd pick the ones to display using the small files - pull them out by the number on the sheet.

What is the best way to store the unframed photos? I use matting and photo bags for the photos for sale, but don't necessarily want to pay for a disposable bag and matt if I plan on on taking it out of them in the future.

I would store them exactly the same way you keep the matted prints you sell. Those bags are cheep, and having it already matted makes swapping out the photo in the frame that much easier. Plus if you decide you wont be putting that photo back in frame again you simply put in with the others that you sell.