Strobe lighting

DebSturm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone, I have been struggling to understand the concept of the settings on my monolight (strobe). Could someone with strobe light and studio experience please explain the strobe settings that vary in percentages vs. the modeling lamp with adjustable F-stops. When and why would I use less than 100% of the strobe? What's the best setup to capture a true black background and keep it black? Should the settings on my lights be the same as the settings on my camera? Are there really any answers, or am I just going to learn from trial and error? I shoot with NikonD3100 and NikonD5100, my strobes are Impact VC-500LR 500w MONOLIGHT 2-LT KIT and I have backup lights and reflectors. ANY help or advice is greatly appreciated, I'm a student. Thanks!:blushing:

Example: One flash to the right of the camera, aimed in toward a seated person at about a 30 degree angle, with the flash at 100% power from 10 feet away. This is the "main" or "key" light.

The second flash is placed at eye-level of the subject and aimed STRAIGHT AHEAD, and is placed immediately to the left of the camera, also from 10 feet away. (Again, this fill-light is set A) close to the camera position, and is B) aimed straight ahead--it is NOT---I repeat it is not,not,not,not supposed to be "angled in from the side"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Using identical ligh modifiers (same size and brand of umbrellas or softboxes, for example), this second light is adjusted to 50% power output level (AKA HALf-power), and is the "fill-light".

With these identical brand and type of lights,one at full, the other at half power, this will create more or less a three-to-one lighting ratio on the subject's face.