Struggling with Off Camera Lighting/Flash

LABPhotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new to this site, so please bare with me as I learn how to post in this forum.

I've been a photographer for almost 20yrs but this is the first time I'm using off camera lighting. I attempted to use it for a wedding and was extremely displeased with the final results when I got home. I'm not sure what I did wrong. I don't fully understand the technical side of photography, I've just been able to naturally 'wing it' for so long. But, now I need to understand the technical side to be more successful at weddings.

I have a Cannon EOS Rebal T3 and recently purchased the Neewer TT850 off camera flash kit. The flash works great for indoor portraits, but it didn't work as expected at my wedding. I set my camera to the sports setting to capture movement and had the flashes on the stands then eventually moved to my camera - either way, the shutter was fast & slow but all movement pictures were blurred. How can I keep this from happening?? I have another wedding in 2 weeks and I desperately need this to be corrected before then!

Any tips and help is greatly appreciated :) Thank you - Lori (LABPhotography)

5090466+_c2b2d55434daabdaa643661efc19f086.jpg

Use, uh, manual? I'm sorry, this issue is too complex to give a simple one-size-fits-all answer. But that's one of the first steps.

Last edited:
I have removed your other thread, please don't cross-post.