Studio Light Information Please

RickyD

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone, my first post here and I thought this thread was relevant. I'm also looking for something "on the cheap" but I also want to make a good investment on lighting. I love the recommendations I've seen on here so far. I'm going to be upgrading camera-wise. Currently have a Sony Alpha 200 that has been around the world with me. Now I'm thinking of going with the Canon EOS Rebel T5i (refurbished because hell yeah, save some money!)

Quick background on me: I'm a hobbyist photographer. It's been a while since I've gone out to take photos, but I really want to get back into it (fell in love with photography in high school.... 10 years ago.... I was the last dark room class!). I have a friend who is really eager to model for me. She has seen what I can do and she just thinks it will be tons of fun. I also have my dad's wedding coming up and he wants me to be the photographer (I can point and shoot and do it for free, so that's good enough for him!)

In my head I'm debating between two types of lights.... those bigger and cheaper studio lights or those smaller more expensive ones that can fit on the camera.... (you can see how much of a newb I am right about now with my amazing terminology)

So far I've put this together in my Amazon wishlist (I hope this link works, if not let me know and I'll link individual items): Link

But then I was on ebay and found this nifty kit: Link

What I want to know is if that ebay kit is even decent and if so is it worth it? Then also should I just bite the bullet and spend a little more on two of the
LumoPro LP180 Official Strobist Flash that I have in my Amazon wishlist?