Studio Lighting Troubleshoot

sharpiegoddess

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone. I'm new here but I desperately need some advice. I've been shooting for over eight years, been in studio for 3, but I'm completely new to strobes and triggers. I'm shooting in a home studio that is about 10x12.

So I picked up two of Calumet's Genesis 400s and Calumet's 4-channel transmitter(x1) and receivers (x3). I have a receiver on each light and one to use to trigger my camera if I so choose to. I am getting two different results between triggering my camera wirelessly (receiver on camera) and taking the photo myself (transmitter on camera.)

When I take the photo myself and the transmitter is on the camera my pictures are coming out almost completely white or completely black depending on the settings. No matter how fast my shutter speed is or anything else the image is rotten. It also does this in every mode even Auto.

When I have the receiver on the camera and am triggering it wirelessly the photo comes out just okay. It seems as though it's missing the flash because I'm picking up identical white balances as the modeling lamp. BUT there IS an actual image like this.

This two part test was taken with identical settings, identical positions, identical light settings, both NOT in live mode, etc etc.

My lights I just can't seem to figure out. I was up nearly all night trying to piece together what Full vs. Proportional means and if this has anything to do with my problem but no matter what I changed to experiment I got the same results. I've tried putting my flash power from 10 to 50, my modeling lamp from 10 to 50, full and prop, nothing fixes it.

Can anyone figure out what's happening to me? Is it my lights or the transmitter or my brain? Thanks. :confused:

Welcome to the forum.