suggest a good lens for a canon eos 40d

STINKY PICTURES

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Whats a good lens for a canon eos 40d indoor use.
the shooting distance will be from 2' away from the subject. (correct distance mistake here)
Sometimes natural light will be used and sometimes lamps, always a tripod.

I`m seriously buying what you suggest so please help me. I want good glass. thanks for your time.

I`m editing this because i gave you no info of any kind!

This picture below is the type of picture I take. Its with my current camera. This is what I do for a living, sell on ebay.

someone here on the form gave me a great link to follow and i did the tutorial and if i did my homework correctly, the lens of MY CHOICE IS... Canon 24-70mm F/2.8 L USM $900.00.
Basically I`m into portrait photography, with natural light. I have to back up some to get the baby's bed completely in the shots. my room is 10' deep. but i don`t back up that far, only about 5 feet. i use natural light, but i do have nice latural colored lights. i use a tripod always. i`m getting the EOS 40D.

I want a zoom lens, i need to do all sorts of poses with the dolls. Laying, sitting, close up shots, hand shots, full body shots.
Plus some family shots too. (if possible with the family part)

I`M SO SORRY, I MADE SUCH A MISTAKE ABOUT MY DISTANCE....
WHAT AN IDIOT I AM! JUST MEASURED ITS 20-24" TO THE BABY'S FACE! AT FAR DISTANCE AND CLOSE UP ITS MORE LIKE 10" yikes. I stand back about 5 feet and take the picture.

ok kick me in the ass. Sorry for all of you who responded to my long distance lens question.

THIS PICTURE IS OF A DOLL I JUST MADE, SHES ON EBAY RIGHT NOW.
DSCF2091.jpg

It really depends on what your subject will be ... people, something smaller? larger? the room itself? If it is about interior design, I would consider a really wide angle zoom.

But I suppose it is about something else?