Taking photos of objects....noob

Anotherguy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am not a photographer by any means, but I do have a couple questions for you all. I sell on eBay for a living and do quite well actually.

My question is, I take pics of items for sale, always indoors with fluorescent lights above. I want to start taking less amateur looking pics. The problem I always get is harsh reflections and shadows. I was looking at umbrella and lights but have no idea where to start with my goal in mind. Keep in mind I'm not trying to be proffesional, but it is important to me to have detailed pics that show any scratches, dents, tears etc on what I am selling. I just can get what I want with what I have now.

What I do have now is a couple different color back drops, a tripod and a Sony DSC-H1.

Any help on what to buy to help with shadows and reflections would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance!

Josh

Sounds like you need a light tent.

Tent & Dome Kits

There are lots of sizes available, or you can make your own pretty easily.

Sounds like you need a light tent.

Tent & Dome Kits

There are lots of sizes available, or you can make your own pretty easily.

I have looked at those and they seem like a good idea, but my problem is that what I sell varies drastically in size. Sizes from coins to refrigerators.

I think the solution is going to be more about technique than gear, although it will certainly help if have lights that you can position (on stands etc).

Lighting product shots, has everything to do with the specific product you are shooting. You'll need to understand that different materials have different reflective properties, and as such, you'll need to light them differently. For example, a mirror is almost entirely characterized by direct reflection...and as such, the only way to actually light the surface of the mirror, is to put a light source into the 'family of angles' (group of angles created from the camera position to the object).