Talk to me about lenes....

CRman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, After shooting a few cameras, I decided on buying the Nikon D80. I comes with a Nikkor 18-55 af lens and a Nikkor 55-200 f4-5.6 ED-IF AF-S VR lens.

What eles to add? I know these are prolly crp kit lenes so I know I will need better. I am looking at the Sigma 10-20 D EX DCHSM for my lanscape and a nikoor 50 mm 1.4 and 1.8 (either) I dont know the difference (still reading up). I'd like to find a good 18-300 or 28 300... Any sugestions?

As you can tell, I am brand new to the DSLR world. I have some books and open to suggestions on further reading. The real experience will come from just going out and shooting, and recording what each shoot was and so forth.

So, if you can offer advice to a newbie I greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance!

Marc

Learn what you've got until you know you need to buy more gear.

If you haven't bought it yet... do not puchase those kit lenses. In a very short time you will hit the limitations and see that you are then kinda stuck with them.

You want lenses that will give you an aperture of F/2.8 or numerically smaller. Nikkor lenses are excellent but about 3 times higher in cost than 3rd party lenses like the Tamron, Tokina or Sigma lines. I've seemed to settle in on a few Sigma lenses that give me excellent results and I am very happy with.

Of course there is NO reason for any Nikon user not to purchase the "thrifty fifty". The Nikkor 50mm F/1.8 prime lens is under $120, damned sharp and great to play with.

Depending on your budget and what you want to play with, you should take a serious look at the Sigma 18-50 DC EX HSM F/2.8. This lens is an excellent walk-around lens and does a 3:1 macro.