The infamous Yellow House (from the legendary Photographic Discussions thread)

Jon_Are

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is the photo of the Yellow House, the shooting of which is the subject of much discussion in the thread titled "When People Just Don't Get It" in the Photographic Discussions area of this site.

Anyway, I'd love some feedback on the image. I'm a beginner looking to learn all I can, so I'm interested in hearing anything and everything that might be of use.

Thanks,

Jon

Last edited:
... I just posted a comment on the other page, but now that I see it in larger format I have to add something. Unfortunately, the house itself is not in focus (this was not apparent on the smaller image). If you had a deeper DOF, it would have been spectacular (and I was wondering if a monochrome yellow house on a B/w image might be interesting too). I think you tried sharpening, as I see a slight white halo around the house.

Ian

Was the sky pasted in? The to pof the hill and the house look like they have a white fringe...

The boulder in the middle is in focus, so seems to be the focal point, but the yellow house seems like it should have been the focal point, and that it therefore should have been in focus... Composition-wise, I would have shot it from above the boulder, adding more sky and making the house the main focus.

Hope that helps a little!

Yeah, the sky was added in. The original was cloudless and boring. I guess that would be preferable to my amateur paste-job. Is there a way to get rid of the white fringe? I tried smudging, but found it's hard to do on a straight edge like the roof of the house.

I'm bummed out about the focus, too. Guess I should have taken more time thinking about it. :mrgreen:

Looks like I'm heading back to Nova Scotia (by myself, this time). :lmao:

Thanks, all.

Jon