The Zone System - In English?

Dmitri

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
ok so after trying to read through many sites that explain the zone system, I think I have it figured out.

Tell me if I'm wrong.

The zone system is basically HDR with two exposures, one for shadows and one for highlights. Yes?

Don't think we used the same translator. I'm not an expert but I don't think it involves more than one exposure.

My take was that it is a system that allows you to obtain your desired exposure. Also seems like you can use it to tailor your exposure to preserve highlights or shadows depending on your vision and/or photographic medium (film, digital, etc..)

You take what you know about the scene/subject and use it to aid you when you meter and dial in your exposure.

Only thing I read was Wikipedia so I might be off...

ugh!! lol The combination of me not being smart, with lots of charts and numbers, make for a tough time. I'll keep reading :)

ok so after trying to read through many sites that explain the zone system, I think I have it figured out.

Tell me if I'm wrong.

The zone system is basically HDR with two exposures, one for shadows and one for highlights. Yes?
No.

Zone system is a way to expose & develop film to achieve a print with a wide range of tones. All tones, from pure black, to white, should be represented in the final print. It was devised using sheet film, which made it easy to adjust development times according to each images' unique needs.

For people shooting roll film, the Zone System is typically just an exposure guide. Light meters are calibrated to render a scene as 18% gray, which in Zone system terminology is ZONE V. Light meters were designed this way to give a good exposure most of the time -- i..e, darks are dark, lights are light, etc.