Today's dumb question: Gather Around!

jwbryson1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As an amateur photographer, I have a tendency to rely on my camera to do a lot of the work for me, and I do not spend a great deal of time checking "this" or "that" before I take the shot. I suspect pros or advanced amateurs will follow a more detailed approach to taking a photo.

When taking an image, my tendency is to rush too much and not to stop and THINK :scratch: about what I am trying to capture. Bryan Peterson does a good job, I think, of describing his approach to taking an image as a "story telling" approach (small f/stop, f/22, with good DOF) or a shall DOF image (I can't think of his exact words at the moment).

When I take a photo, I tend to compose the shot, zoom in or out on my subject, hold down the shutter release until the focus appears to have locked and then take the image.

I never use the markings on the lens to check for DOF in terms of actual distance in front of and behind the subject. I just know intuitively that a larger f/stop (f/2.8) will yield a shallow DOF and a smaller f/stop (f/16) will yield a longer DOF.

So my question is this: should I be checking the markings on the lens to determine my "actual DOF" when composing an image? Why not just rely on the autofocus sensors and knowledge of f/stops to take the shot? Do advanced amateurs and pros routinely use the lens markings in their work?

Just wondering.

My question arose when I watched this really good video on using the markings to determine DOF:

Last edited by a moderator: