Total beginner here with a few shots of my dog for C&C!

nikki_hd

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all! I am brand new to photography (as in, just picked up my husband's old canon 10D three days ago) and am having so much fun with it! I've been playing with aperture, ISO, and shutter speed, as well as practicing focusing. My only (kind of) willing model is my dog, so I've included a couple shots I've taken of her. I'd love comments or critiques. Just keep in mind that I'm a total newbie and might need things in laymen's terms if I'm going to learn and grow. Thanks so much!

Attachments

• $CRW_0053.jpg
    $CRW_0053.jpg
    918.5 KB · Views: 141
  • $CRW_0097.jpg
    $CRW_0097.jpg
    631.3 KB · Views: 137
  • $CRW_0057.jpg
    $CRW_0057.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 161
  • $CRW_0061.jpg
    $CRW_0061.jpg
    646.3 KB · Views: 152
I like them. I like pictures that capture memories and moments. I don't know a lot of the technical stuff like lighting etc.

:thumbs:

Not bad for just a couple of days :)

#1: Not crazy about the tilt. The light is also flat and not interesting. It's good that you're experimenting with the settings on the camera, but never forget that it's all about light. Pay attention to the light that you have. I see a couple of patches of light in the background. Think about how you can place your subject in relation to that more interesting, directed light.

#2: Better light, but the dogs' faces are in the shadows, so your camera exposes for the brighter spots, but leaves the faces in shadow, so you lose detail in the more important subjects. Not a lot of detail in this case, but the eye is still pulled more towards their butts because they are brighter, and the eye moves towards brighter areas in the image. In terms of the composition, it's good framing, though you cut off the paws and you could leave more room on the left side.