Total beginner need some advice

Harryx2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,

I’m wanting to upgrade from my little digital compact camera to a DSLR after hearing people rave about them…

People keep talking about things like shutter speed etc but most of it goes over my head!

The main things I will be taking photos of are sports, like horse polo, show jumping and some scenery as well as the usual photos of the family! I’ve been recommended the Nikon D3100 but non of the reviews I have read mention that it’s a good camera for sports.

My budget is around the £300 - £400.

I would really appreciate some help with this…

Thanks in advanced J

I think you will be pleased with the pictures you can get with a D3100.

The "shutter speed" you mentioned is probably refering to the relative lack of "shutter lag" compared with most point-and-shoot cameras. Most of the time a DSLR will release the shutter with very little time lag between the time you press the button and when the shutter actuates.

The biggest difference however will be in the picture quality over that of the P&S.

Hi, thank you for that. The Nikon D3100 is currently on offer at Jessops for £362.50 and it comes with a 18-55mm VR Lense (don't have a clue what that means)... Will this lense be ok for what I need to use it for?

Welcome to the forum.

Any of the entry level DSLR models will likely be a good step up from your point & shoot type camera. So I'd also suggest checking out the Canon Rebel series, or maybe something from Pentax or Sony.

One of the biggest benefits of a DSLR, is that it's part of a system. So when you want or need to upgrade, you can purchase a different lens. Or when it's time to upgrade the camera, you can keep your lenses and accessories and just upgrade the camera.