Total newbie shoots "ghostly" Death Valley in B&W

AlbertoDeRoma

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just spent 3 days in Death Valley and took quite a few pictures. Below are a handful of my favorites (in B&W.)

Feedback and recommendations are welcome as I am a beginner.

Thanks,

Alberto

Ghostmobile

L1010932.JPG

Ghost Train

GhostTrain2.JPG

Ghost Bicyclist

L1010666.JPG

Ghost House

L1010508.JPG

Ravens Kissing

L1010978.JPG

I really like the first one: Ghostmobile. You should just level the horizon. It would be interesting to see more of the Ghost Train.

I agree with brian about the first one. Also with a title like ghost bicyclist I was hoping to see more of the bike. Putting it in a portait orientation rather than landscape may have helped this. Although I'm a cyclist so I may be biased :lol:.
Overall I really like them especially the first.

I really like the first one: Ghostmobile. You should just level the horizon. It would be interesting to see more of the Ghost Train.

Thanks for the feedback Brian. That's exactly what I was looking for (i.e. I hadn't even noticed that the horizon was not leveled.)

Alberto

I agree with brian about the first one. Also with a title like ghost bicyclist I was hoping to see more of the bike. Putting it in a portait orientation rather than landscape may have helped this. Although I'm a cyclist so I may be biased :lol:.
Overall I really like them especially the first.

Thanks. Very good point about the cropping on the bicycle and using a portrait orientation.

Alberto

I like the suggestions above, and just wanted to add that I also really like "Ghost House"!

Thank you. I know that putting the house in the middle of the frame was not very creative on my part, but other compositions did not work and - in this case - centering the subject seemed like the right thing. What I found interesting in this picture was the contrast and detail of the wood boards.

Alberto