Transforming film pictures to digital pictures...how?

nist7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello fellow photo-enthusiasts. I'm a student that is taking a photography class for the summer to fulfill a humanities credits. To my pleasant surprise, I have picked up this hobby and will soon go develop my first *artistic* roll.

I inherited a Cannon EOS 5 from my grandfather, who worked as a photojournalist between China and Japan. I believe the US-equivalent of this is designated the A2E. It is the traditional film SLR, albeit it does have a hodge podge of computerized functions.

Now, my professor briefly mentioned that if you take a traditional roll of exposed film (say, color negative) to one of the express photo printing places (pharmacies, wal-mart, etc.) they can put the pictures onto a CD.

Is this true? And what kind of image quality do I expect? Raw image file? JPEG?

Also, do the various photo processing places differ in their quality? Or should I just go to wal-mart since they seem to have the best prices?

Thank you for your time. I'm hoping this transformation wouldn't be as much of an effort as what Industrial Light and Magic had to do for Optimus Prime. :thumbup:

Most labs offer this service
It´s not a drama

You say, "here´s my film...please put it on a CD"

They will develop the film as usual, then scan the negatives and software converts it to the image you see on the CD.

It may be possible to specify the quality of the scan, but it will certainly be at least good enough to make normal sized prints. Ask them to show you an example.

Welcome to the forum.

As mentioned, this is pretty easy to do...just about any lab will put your images onto CD for you. Some labs do offer a higher resolution file, so ask around.

Cool. Thanks for your replies!

To get the most quality and consistency, I would recommend going to a pro-lab. Your professor should know where one is located near you.