Tripod Grease/Lubricant and Cleaning

0ptics

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just came back from shooting around the Southwest and my Mefoto Globetrotter CR tripod is full of sand and dust. I plan to disassemble each leg segment and do a deep clean, but had a few questions before I do it since this is my first time...

1) What is the easiest way to clean my tripod? I was thinking of using water, microfiber towel, and a toothbrush since my tripod can be disassembled and can unscrew each leg segment.

2) Since the leg segments are CR, I can use water? It won't cause any rust or damage the legs/threads?

3) After unscrewing each leg, I noticed there were some kind of grease/lubricant coated throughout the screw thread; I was wondering what grease/lubricant should I use if I wash it off when I clean my tripod? And where would I purchase that kind of grease/lubricant?

Thanks!

What does CR stand for?

The grease they put on it at the factory is likely white lithium grease, or similar. (Any auto parts store will have it.)

Soapy water, with a water rinse and towel dry is probably the best way to clean it. Then lube anything that needs it.

If there is any sand in the grease ( and there will be) you're going to need a solvent to remove the old grease along with the sand. Don't over-grease those threads when reassembling.