Trying to focus on composition, looking for CC.

STiZzle2010

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is a shot of my son, one of my main practice subjects lol. I'm new to photography and trying to improve as much as I can. One of my weaknesses has been composition which I tried to focus on in this image. One of the things I could have improved on is getting both eyes in focus. Critique is very much welcomed.

Shot with a Nikon D5500, Nikkor 50mm 1.8G lens, and edited in Lightroom. f/3.5, 1/200th, ISO 200

JMH_0055_zpsynbjlybo.jpg

I like how you used the rule of thirds both vertically (eye)and horizontally (button seam). You did fine. Cute as a button. Too bad the little whipper snapper didn't look into the lens at that head angle, that would have been cool.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

You needed more depth of field to get both eyes in focus (smaller aperture). Or you would need both eyes closer to being on the same plane. . Someone will post a link to a depth of field calculator so that you can see why both eyes are not equally in focus.

You want to make the image of your son distinct from the background and you try to do this by using a shallow depth of field. But to do it with this lens/sensor you have to get close, and this makes it more difficult to keep both eyes in focus. It would be better to use a longer lens from further away and position the subject as to have e.g. window light falling onto the background. Your composition options are constrained by the choice of lens and uniform lighting: imagine a light source beaming down from above and left - onto the background- with a bounced flash above/right at 45 degrees to your son's (left) cheek/temple/forehead. That would be much more dynamic and using a longer lens - greater blur. At f5.6-8 you would have eyes and nose and mouth in focus and probably achievable in a medium sized room of a house bouncing flash.