Turning Digital! Need Wise Advice!

TravTheMan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! So I recently had my Canon 35mm camera stolen from my car. I had been planning to buy a DSLR for a while but now I'm thrown straight into the mix. I'll be honest, I'm a student and I'm a little cheap. I've also explored slightly into the used camera world and haven't been too impressed. Do you recommend new or used?

I'm currently looking at the Canon XTi and XT. Right now I'm leaning a little to the XT so I can buy an additional EF 55-200 f/4.5-5.6 II USM to go along with the standard EF 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 USM. Is that a good idea?

I've heard a lot that the lense is more important than the body so I thought it would be smart to stick to the XT and get the extra lense. Also, if you have any other camera bodies or kits that you think are a better way, let me know. Unfortunately, the XTi is just about the ceiling when it comes to price ranges though.

Also, I'm a big landscaper and love to hike and backpack so I'm looking to get a travel tripod also. Right now I'm fixed on the Slik Sprint Pro for about 80 bucks which is a pretty good deal to me. It's got a ball head and a 4.4 lb load capacity and a more-than-acceptable max height 65''. My only worry is that it might not be able to hold the XT or XTi with the 55-200mm lense so I'm open to other opinions as well. Thank you and any feedback is much appreciated!
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=2635&A=details&Q=&sku=278545&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation

I've heard a lot that the lense is more important than the body so I thought it would be smart to stick to the XT and get the extra lense.