Underwater Photography

stapo49

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All, just a general question in relation to underwater photography. If you buy a camera such as an Olympus tough TG5 do you still need a separate housing to take decent images/ video? Does it depend on the depth you are driving? Cheers.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

I personally love the Olympus tough cameras. I’ve been using them for about 7 years now. Highly recommend them.

That said, I think they’re only good to a certain depth, but cannot recall at the moment. Not sure if they have a separate housing available or not. Worked great for me snorkeling, pool snaps with family, and Niagara Falls on the boat at the bottom.

I’ll try to post a sample pic from snorkeling tomorrow.

I personally love the Olympus tough cameras. I’ve been using them for about 7 years now. Highly recommend them.

That said, I think they’re only good to a certain depth, but cannot recall at the moment. Not sure if they have a separate housing available or not. Worked great for me snorkeling, pool snaps with family, and Niagara Falls on the boat at the bottom.

I’ll try to post a sample pic from snorkeling tomorrow.
Thanks for the response. Based on what you are saying you can just jump in the water and take decent photos with the camera as is? The reason I ask is most of the reviews have them in a housing with some sort of lense attachment/ light set up. Didn't want to buy the camera and then find out I needed to buy accessories as well just to get some good images/video. Cheers.