(unusual) lighting help needed

diverdewan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to lighting and my needs are almost the exact opposite of most lighting posts. Let me preface this question with I am a scientist and this lighting is for a mouse behavior experiment where I need to track the mouses location in a large box. I need to evenly illuminate (with constant lighting) boxes with out tops that range in size. The camera is mounted on top of box. It shoots both videos and stills in the ir so shutterspeed is not a problem. But for better mouse behavior I want as little light as possible while evenly illuminating box with no ( or almost no) shadows. I was thinking two lights on stands with diffusers or umbrellas....am I on the right track? Thanks for all your help...past, present, and future. Any thoughts, suggestions, or information would be helpful.

I think an overhead lighting system would work , kind of hard to say without knowing the types of lights you have or if you have a budget for them. I don't think it would be that hard to make.
-
Lanterns
-
Shoot well, Joe

try making the boxes out of white acrylic sheets so you can light it without using umbrellas.

You could custom build a ring-light with leds that you fasten on the lens of the camera. This will create 0 shadows.

Also the light output can easily be modified so you can lower it if it affects the mouse behavior, and since led is a "cool" light you won't fry the poor creatures :D

Here is a tutorial to build a ring-light
Build an LED Ring Light

Hope I could help :)

There is only 1 way to light to minimize shadows - a large light source. But, you say you'll be capturing video and stills in IR.