Upgrade camera or lens?

campeterz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I am an amateur photographer mostly interested in shooting nature and sports. I currently own the kit lens (18-55 f/3.5-5.6) and 75-300 f/4-5.6 (without IS). I also borrow various lenses from a friend sometimes. The lenses I am looking at are the 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS, 18 mm-135 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, or 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

My other option would be to save up and upgrade my camera (20D) to a newer Canon camera (T3i or 60D?)

As a teenager, price will play a pretty big factor in this decision :(

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Instead of getting the 18-200mm lens, maybe getting the 70-200mm f/4L instead for a little more.

Instead of getting the 18-200mm lens, maybe getting the 70-200mm f/4L instead for a little more.

Is there a major difference between the one with image stabilization and the one without, besides the price? (i.e. better glass?)

i dont think so. and i agree, go with better glass. it will last longer and will carry you further

Go for the glass. An older body can take you a loooong way (trust me!) and the prices fall pretty quickly on the bodies as newer ones come out and the technology improves. But good glass rarely changes, it's an investment that you don't have to constantly upgrade. It's worth it to stick with your body as long as you possibly can and put your money towards glass and good accessories that you can use forever and a day.

Go for the glass. An older body can take you a loooong way (trust me!) and the prices fall pretty quickly on the bodies as newer ones come out and the technology improves. But good glass rarely changes, it's an investment that you don't have to constantly upgrade. It's worth it to stick with your body as long as you possibly can and put your money towards glass and good accessories that you can use forever and a day.