mhafweet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.matchlessmemories.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

I'm currently using a Nikon D50 with an 18-200mm 3/3.5-5.6 VR lens. I'm feeling its limitations and need an upgrade.

I'm planning on a Canon EOS 5D Mark II. I need some help searching for lenses...

- Lens needs to be compatible with a full chip. How do I search for this feature?
- I like that I don't have to switch lenses right now, but I'm also not happy that my current lens doesn't give crisp focus on the extremes (it really struggles between 160-200mm). I want to keep to two zoomable lenses that will work in most situations. What ##mm range do you recommend?
- I appreciated Nikon's VR feature. Is the Canon "IS" essentially vibration reduction? Is it in-lens or in-camera?

I'm shooting weddings for $$, but my ultimate goal is international photojournalism. I'm currently volunteering for my school's newspaper, shooting sports and such. I'm a student, so I don't have an endless pocket here, but I want to invest in some good glass that can be resold when I'm done with it.

Thanks!

First question - why are you considering changing to Canon from Nikon?
Also what is the full budget you have for this upgrade/change over?

Wow.. you have been shooting weddings with only 1 lens? I hope you have enough $$ to buy multiple lenses when you buy the 5D mk2.

For 5D MK2 you always want to get the L lenses. Cool thing with Canon is that all EF lenses will fit all cameras. But do not buy EF-S lenses as they're not made for FF bodies. I would go with 24-70 2.8L (although I chose 24-105 4L and have absolutely no issue with the ISO capabilities of the 5D mk2) 72-200 2.8 IS (or the MK2 version, which is what I went with) and also pick up a 16-35mm 2.8 down the road. Although, I'd say picking up 16-35 would be ideal with a 50mm 1.4 (or 1.2) and a 70-200 2.8