Upgrading to full frame...which company / body is right for me?

Magellan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there! I've lurked here for quite a while now, but finally decided to join up as I have a question I just can't seem to answer on my own. Apologies if this isn't the correct forum.

I've been shooting with a Canon T2i / 550D for just under a year now. I bought it as my first DSLR, to see if I enjoyed photography as much as I thought I would. Turns out, I do :D It didn't take long to figure out that photography is something I want to continue to pursue, perhaps some day as more than a hobby. Now that I've got a firm grasp on things, and am starting to pursue actual photography gigs, I'd like to make the jump up to full frame. But I'm no professional...and don't want to spend professional money. I'm thinking $3000 is my price point for a body and all-purpose lens. Hopefully with a flash, as well.

The obvious Canon choice would be a 5D Mk II, or perhaps a used 1Ds MK II. But everyone I know is saying that Nikon will suit me better. I have less than $1500 tied up in my camera bag right now, and I'm not opposed to selling everything and starting over. I'm not dead set on Canon or Nikon, either...I'd like for someone to make arguments toward Sony, Pentax, or even Olympus.

As for what I'm looking for, to qualify why Nikon supposedly suits me better...my two main priorities are a fast, accurate AF system and excellent high ISO performance. One other thing that's important is build quality...I take my camera literally everywhere, sometimes through wind and rain, and frequently in dusty, arid environments. Primarily I shoot motor sports, concerts (frequently in small venues where lighting isn't the best and flash is frowned upon), and wildlife. I hope to get into portraits and wedding work in the future. I'm not all that interested in landscapes, and rarely do still life.