Used D2HS opinions

Kudzu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Need some input quickly. I have a D2Hs coming to me to look at. I was a very serious amateur photographer for many years but got out of the hobby. I have been wanting a serious camera and this one came up for sale. I will have use of it all day tomorrow and will spend a lot of time playing with it. I have read the reviews on these cameras and it is obviously a solid built camera which is a big attraction for me. In the past mine received a work out and was drug a lot of places.

So my question is how out of date is this camera? The price is very good and I am assuming it is in good shape, I will know in a few hours when it gets here. Reading up on it sounds like it's biggest limitation is the 4 megapixel size. I am not planning on large prints, mainly wanting the quality. Most work is digital with an occasional print or book cover. Mostly smaller print images.

Last edited:
It's a pretty good camera, but it is *extremely* outdated (which is why it should be very low priced).

It's only 4 megapixels which is quite small by modern standards, doesn't really have any crazy high ISO abilities (and even it's base low ISO of 200 doesn't offer very much range or bit depth), and its AF system is fairly basic even in comparison to current mid-range Nikons. The battery is also pretty expensive so make sure that's included and that it lasts a decent amount of time and doesn't die quickly, some old batteries eventually die off.

Don't get me wrong, it's a solid camera, but for the ~$400-500 it would cost in good condition, you could get much higher quality images out of say, a D200 (10 megapixels), or if you can reach a little bit higher something like the D90 (12.3 megapixels and really good high ISO performance) or the D5100 (doesn't have an AF motor but has probably the best DX sized sensor out right now, 16mp and the best high ISO out of all of these).