Using ISO and ISO invariance

freixas

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
OK, I've been a photographer for a long time (as in, I've spent more years with analog than digital cameras). After looking at some really long threads about ISO elsewhere, I'm starting to understand how ISO works in digital cameras. It's not ASA.

I'm convinced: you lower noise by giving the sensor as much light as possible. For cameras that are not ISO invariant, for any given exposure (shutter/aperture), a higher ISO setting may produce less noise than a lower one. For an ISO invariant camera, the ISO setting won't matter.

The light meter is always going to factor in the ISO value. So what's the best strategy for setting exposure on ISO variant and ISO invariant cameras?

Let's pick a specific scenario: I'm going to photograph birds with a hand-held 400mm zoom. I need at least a shutter speed of 1/400, but even faster would be better. I pick a shutter speed, not less than 1/400. For the aperture, I'll live with whatever I can get.

If the camera is "ISO variant", I'll set the mode to shutter priority and ISO to auto. The hope is that the camera will raise ISO only after the aperture is maxed out. If the aperture is also important, I'll go to manual and also set the largest aperture I can live with. ISO is still auto. Some bird shots may turn out to have a lot of noise, but this will always be the best possible result given the camera and the lighting conditions.

If the camera is ISO invariant, I could use the same strategy or I could leave the ISO at 100, so that the camera maximizes the amount of light received by the sensor (given the limitations of the shutter and possibly aperture settings). The camera might flash warnings that the scene does not have enough light; that's OK, as long as it allows the photo to be taken.