UV filter

WayneS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I recently purchased a polarizing filter and step down adapter. At the time, the salesman (at a reputable camera shop) was recommending a UV filter. I declined at the time as their filters were higher quality and not cheap. What does a UV filter do for you? Figured I may need it since most of my shooting is outdoors. My impression was they protect the lenses from degradation, but since I'm a noob, figured I'd better ask. Also looking for a filter to bring out the colors of skin, the sky etc... Any suggestions? (sorry, 2 questions at once :oops: )

I recently purchased a polarizing filter and step down adapter. At the time, the salesman (at a reputable camera shop) was recommending a UV filter. I declined at the time as their filters were higher quality and not cheap. What does a UV filter do for you? Figured I may need it since most of my shooting is outdoors. My impression was they protect the lenses from degradation, but since I'm a noob, figured I'd better ask. Also looking for a filter to bring out the colors of skin, the sky etc... Any suggestions? (sorry, 2 questions at once :oops: )

It blocks ultraviolet light. UV light can make a photo appear hazy. I personally prefer a polarizer, which has other advantages and it's definitely a mistake to use two filters simultaneously.

Go here for simplified explanations of various filters:
http://www.hoyafilter.com/

also, UV filters are generally used merely as a protective cover for your lens, basically a much cheaper piece of glass preventing damage to the more expensive one, but like socrates said, 2 filters at once is hardly ever a good idea

also, UV filters are generally used merely as a protective cover for your lens, basically a much cheaper piece of glass preventing damage to the more expensive one, but like socrates said, 2 filters at once is hardly ever a good idea