Verbal abuse needed: newbie shots

forrey

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.forrestmckinney.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all! Just joined the forum, though I've been lurking for a while. I'm a photography newbie but always wanted to try it for real and was finally able to get myself a 550D a couple months ago.

Anyway, I was just hoping to get opinions on some of the shots I've taken so far. No joke about the verbal abuse, I prefer blunt criticism so feel free to tear 'em up

Thanks

Side note: the first one is actually not selective color, it was just one brightly colored leaf in a pile of dead ones. (Granted, I did lower the overall saturation and up the orange/red in lightroom a bit, but not much. It was a strong contrast to begin with)

img_0312.jpg

img_7351-15.jpg

img_0408-2.jpg

img_0223.jpg

img_0828.jpg

img_0833.jpg

img_7563-16.jpg

img_7573-17.jpg

img_0834.jpg

left_behind_by_drumstx2010-d4190ux-2.jpg

face_upturned__island_graffiti_by_drumstx2010-d418zcb-2.jpg

island_graffiti__parasite_by_drumstx2010-d4191r8-2.jpg

Last edited:
You are not going to get any abuse from me, well not much anyway.

Selective color is not a favorite around technique in these parts but it sort of works for your image of the maple leaf.

The mushrooms are ok, might have been better with more depth of field.

The horizon is inexcusably tilted in the sandal photo.

The last two are pretty cool - reminders of Andy Warhol.

You are not going to get any abuse from me, well not much anyway.

Selective color is not a favorite around technique in these parts but it sort of works for your image of the maple leaf.

The mushrooms are ok, might have been better with more depth of field.

The horizon is inexcusably tilted in the sandal photo.

The last two are pretty cool - reminders of Andy Warhol.