Wall-scanning, art installation issue.

l0de

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a somewhat atypical problem, possibly more involved with scanning and imaging than photography. I have been working on it for a while and am getting frustrated, any help would be greatly appreciated. I am not a photographer by trade, this problem has sort of fallen into my lap, and I am unable to pass the buck. :(

As part of an installation, I am tasked with fulfilling an artist's vision of having several people roaming around the space, scanning the art on the walls, photoshopping the content, printing out their modification on sticker paper on the spot, then affixing it to the walls. The artist wants each person to have a 'mobile station' and to be completely self-contained, so they can work without interruption. It sounds goofy, but I think it does have the potential to be really interesting, as he has a pretty interesting guest list of local artists.

The printing and photoshop parts I've been pretty successful with, I got a good deal on several macbooks and wacom tablets, built little wheeled workpods that people can scooted around the warehouse and have tested several mobile printers that are acceptable. So far so good. Of course, I am not allowed anything so 'barbaric' (the artist's actual words :p ) as cords going to the pods, so I've been working with devices that have built in batteries so far. Thus far I have been able to escape putting car batteries and inverters in the stations, and I would like to keep it that way, but if I have to, I will (I built a compartment into the pods anticipating this possibility).

I'm stuck on the scanning.