Waterfalls and night shots

marksmithusa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Dear all,

I am a photo newbie and don’t understand a lot of the terminology (such as aperture, etc). However, I simply love taking photos with my Nikon D80 and would really like to get good. I know I need a class but I don't have time in my life just yet (maybe in a year or two!)

One type of photo that I struggle with is the waterfall. I really do enjoy waterfalls (and all water-based shots) but I do have difficulty avoiding the ‘silky' stream of water. I would like to get a clearer shot if I can.

Also, my d80 seems to have problems with moving (sporty) shots at night - specifically related to the amount of blur - I don't think I've ever taken a single good shot with my d80 (but I was able to with the sport mode on an earlier Nikon).

Any advice or tips would be appreciated. I'm going to Niagara (which would combine the waterfall and night shot!) and a baseball game or two over the summer so I would like to be prepared.

TIA,

Mark

the water seems "silky" because your shutter speed is not fast enough, slower shutter speeds will capture motion thus your silky waterfall, if you up the shutter speed a little, the shutter will close fast enough to stop the waterfall in its tracks just like this for example

this is one taken with a slow shutter speed

NewWaterfall.jpg

this is one taken with a fast shutter speed

Waterfall.jpg

hope this helped :thumbup:

Very nice shot!

Yes, that's pretty much what I need to do. All I need to do now is to figure out how to increase the shutter speed on my camera. I guess I should RTFM for that...

Is it a similar technique for moving shots at night? The d80 has a sport mode but it sucks at night.

Grazie Mille!

Mark

Welcome to the forum.

The problems you describe have little to do with your camera...they deal with the physics of photography.