what am I doing wrong?

Dagwood56

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm not new to photography, but I am relatively new to digital, for the past year I have a used a canon P&S and gotten some remarkable photos. I was pleased that most could be zoomed in even larger in photoshopp and cropped for a nice crisp clear closeup.

So ---I finallly get the camera I've dreamed of for the past two years - Sony A100 and I go out to shoot some birds and scenic shots using a 70-210mm Minolta lens from my old film camera I got what I thought were nice clsoe shots. I'm shooting in JPEG fine which according to the manual is still recording at 10.2mp and I put the photos on the computer. In photoshop I zoom in on a bird expecting exceptional results and it looks like it was shot with a 5mp or less camera! I had the camera shake button on - I'm working in program mode with a ISO of 200, avearge shutter speed 125 -250 and the picture looks clear untill I zoom in using photo shop....why?:( I'm reallly getting frustrated!

That's so very odd :/ I got the A350 for xmas and was playing around with it on Christmas day of course..... Previously I used the Panasonic Lumix fz18, and was happily surprised that after cropping some of the shots from yesterday that their sizes are so very much larger even after shooting in fine jpg...... wish I could help you out some :/

avearge shutter speed 125 -250

That might not be enough. For the long end (210mm) you'll probably be needing 1/200th at least, but I don't know how steady your hand is.

Could you post up some examples at 100% magnification, with settings? It could be camera shake, out of focus, anything until we see pics.

This is the EXACT same problem I am having with my camera. I have a Canon 30d and a Canon 70-210 EF lens.

Here are some examples that I get:

(I thtink this one is even a little out of focus)
IMG_0826.jpg

IMG_0773.jpg

IMG_0765.jpg