What camera do I need?

Zikkan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey!

I plan to climb Kilimanjaro and after that many other adventure travels and I want a camera that will take good photos and do not break the bank. I was thinking of Gopro hero 9, tiny, affordable, durable and seems to take good photos. But I have ZERO knowledge about cameras.
I want something light so it is maximum 500-600g nothing big and I will also only start it and take a photo, no settings or anything. What do you guys think, is Gopro a good camera or should I get a compact camera like Canon PowerShot SX740 HS?
What is the pros and cons.

I don't have any actual experience with a GoPro, but from what I've seen, they appear to have only one focal length, and it's a wide angle. I could be wrong, so check it out. I would just start looking for "travel cameras" and find one to meet your budget requirements.

I climbed a few beginner mountains in Colorado Rockies and drag a SLR w/ wide angle lens in the '90s. If I did it again I'd take the Ricoh GRIII or Fuji X-S10, but probably the GRII for compactness and weight. I'm not sure you can find the perfect camera because of the freezing temperatures at the summit.

Here are 3 budget compact suggestions:

Olympus TG-6 is waterproof
Olympus TG-6 review: the best waterproof camera on the market

GoPros hero 9 is tiny
https://www.trustedreviews.com/reviews/gopro-hero-9-black

Ricoh GRIII is compact, has best photo quality and is highly rated
Ricoh GR III review

Fuji X-S10 is also superb full featured compact camera w/ interchangeable lenses for your other travel events besides mtn climbing. I'd get featherweight 27mm lens for climbing and compact zoom for travel.
Fujifilm X-S10: Digital Photography Review

Take a large memory card for lots of photos of trip traveling and climbing.

Take at least one extra battery.

Last edited:
That seems like a good option, but is there a difference in quality of the photos when compared to a Gopro?