what do boudoir photographers do with archives if they quit the business?

penman53

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am not a professional photographer. However...... I have a very serious and personal question.

My wife is not a professional model. However, in 2005 she posed mostly naked for boudoir photos as a personal gift for me. She was paranoid about the photos ending up on the Internet or in the wrong hands. If they did and she was discovered, it would be very embarrassing for both of us as well as possibly damaging for her career. We specifically chose a photographer from a neighboring state so there was no chance she would run into him in our town. It was purely to be a one-time thing for her and the photos were supposed to be for my eyes only. He gave me several model references. I contacted three and all stressed he was a true professional.

In 2008 I ordered more enlargements and he made them. No problem there. Last holiday season I decided I wanted more enlargements; of course, I didn't know if he even had them after so many years.

I was stunned to find that he seems to have vanished. The phone number I have for him is no longer in service. My emails to him have been returned. He still has his web site up but it looks like it hasn't been updated for years. (A friend told me there is no regular maintenance fee for that type of web site.)