What do you do for a blur effect?

psreilly

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've never tried it before, and was curious to what methods people on this forum use. I'm talking about the blur that can be caused by vaseline, plastic bags or other methods

I'm planning on doing something like that soon, but would hate to waste a filter just to throw vaseline on it. Any recommendations or better methods than the two listed above?

I like to use Vaseline and plastic bags. Use a UV filter - they are pretty much worthless on digital. You can also use a small piece of window glass - 4" x 5" or so; just tape up the edges so you don't cut yourself.

I've been seeing lots of shots done with tulle over the lens lately! It's quite an interesting effect

Nothing. I spent a lot of money to get relatively sharp lenses and see no reason to defeat that.

That said, if for some odd reason I did want a soft-focus effect I'd do it with software. I can't "Undo" a bad shot if it's all I've got. I can "Undo" something I changed with software.

I have a pretty good stash of filters for creating soft, diffuse looks, both Cokin, some Softars, and some homemade "hairspray" filters. There are a number of different looks. White tulle fabric makes a good diffusion material; pantyhose material will also work. BLACK-colored tulle, or other black netting makes a really nice diffusion look. Tiffen's Black Net filter is pretty good. Cokin has soft-focus, fog, and diffusion filters, and those work pretty nice on longer lenses, like 70-200 or 70-300 zooms.