What does it mean to stop up or stop down? - Aperture

NedM

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I may sound like a complete noob but don't get me wrong I understand the aperture quite well.

It's just sometimes whenever I'm watching videos on photography or when I hear someone say, "For this next scene, we are going to have to adjust our aperture a stop up or down."
The said person then adjusts his f/number, oh lets say from, f/5.6 to f/8.

That's when I'm caughtoff guard because I have no clue how much a stop up/down is!?

Or... Do I have this all wrong and whenever you're changing the aperture either higher or lower the term for that is just stopping up/down?

Please elaborate!

I do also see this whenever someone is also talking about the shutter speed as well!
Where can I learn more about this?

Up = more exposure (lighter) Down = less exposure (darker) Stop = stops of aperture.

So going from F5.6 to F8 would be stopping down. The bigger the number, the smaller the aperture size (the hole is smaller and lets less light in)

I hope I'm not insulting your intelligence, just explaining in a simple manner.

Up = more exposure (lighter) Down = less exposure (darker) Stop = stops of aperture.

So going from F5.6 to F8 would be stopping down. The bigger the number, the smaller the aperture size (the hole is smaller and lets less light in)

No, no, not at all!
I mean, this was the only thing about the aperture that ever confused.
Just understanding the terminology.

So, going from F5.6 to F8 or F11 would be stopping down?
There's nothing else to it?
It's just a term used for when adjusting the aperture then?

No, no, not at all!

for that conversation yes, but exposure in general is measured in stops. Heres a couple better explanations than I have time to type. lol

Photography 101.4 - Exposure and Stops - Digital Photography School

A Tedious Explanation of the f/stop

No, no, not at all!