What else but the camera?

Roverholic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi

I am going to start getting into photography from a complete novice standing. I know a popular question on here is "What camera should I get" etc. Now I am already decided upon the Nikon D3300 and my question is different.

My question therefore is.. What other equipment do I need to consider apart from the camera and lens. I'm guessing a good case/bag, a memory card, a cleaning kit and maybe access to a computer (I have a PC and iPad).

Is there anything I'm missing here and haven't taken into consideration?

All photographic advice depends on what genre of photography you are interested in. I find my tripod to be essential. Other photographers have no use for a tripod but need their flashguns or filters or many other things.

What photographs are you i tending to take?

Sent from my A1-840 using Tapatalk

Start off with Landscape and general photos from walks in the country then get a Macro lens to do the whole close ups of flowers and insects

Generally I like a second lens before the flash and tripod (however with a macro lens I would want to have both flash and a tripod available).

At the very start a second battery and a second memory card and small bag and either some lens cleaning tissue or micro-fiber cloth.

When I moved to a DSLR I started using LightRoom, and add some storage for all those pictures and the backup of the same.

As Dave mentioned, a second lens would be nice to have. A nice prime lens (prime meaning single focal length lens, not a zoom) like the 35mm f/1.8 AF-S DX Nikkor would be nice, or the 50mm f/1.8 AF-S G Nikkor, or the wonderful 85mm f/1.8 AF-S Nikkor telephoto priome lens, and of those three spring to mind immediatekly.

Cleaning kit? Ehhhh...for the lens? Not so much...huff some breath on it and use a clean T-shirt to wipe the lens front off--bbut ONLY if it trult needs cleaning, and not more than once a month! OVER-cleaning lenses has ruined many a fine lens!