What equipment to consider?

ufoldager

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!

First of all, I am new on this forum and a complete novice and newcomer to photography and recording. I have decided to do a bit of research on this topic, and found this forum through a bit of googling, and am now hoping that there are some nice people in here that could possibly help me answer a few questions and give me some advice.

As mentioned before, I know nothing about photography and camera recording (video with sound), but my boss and I have thought of using these tools in our business. The situation is that when we are travelling all over the world and get to work at our client's offices, we often have lengthy powerpoint presentations of what we do and how we work.

More specifically, we are consultants within different areas of Enterprise Architecture, and doing powerpoint presentations to both small and large crowds gathered in a room is something we do quite a lot.

I mentioned the idea of purchasing some good (although not too expensive/high-end) equipment and do some recording of these presentations to my boss, and he loved that idea. We're thinking of recording our presentations, and upload and share them with the world on Youtube (and other relevant channels, for that matter), so that we can do some marketing of what we can provide for our customers.

Now, obviously, we need a camera and a camera stand for that, and quite possibly something else as well (microphone, lighting?), but I know not which kind of equipment.

Our budget could sit around $3000 (or 2500£) or something like that. I think I could persuade him to spend that amount.

So I'm simply looking for advice on which kind of equipment I absolutely NEED, what equipment (supplement) would be a good idea to purchase, and hopefully some advice on which camera brand and model would be the best for our specific purpose.