What is the best alternative to a Nikkor AF-S DX 10-24mm?

azzkikr9

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been meaning to purchase a Nikon AF-S DX 10-24mm Nikkor lense but end up getting outbid at the last minute. Sometimes I thank my lucky stars that I didnt drop 700 on this lens, I get frustrated that Nikon lenses are so damn expensive.

I own a D5000, that's right, I'm an amateur at best right now. I've got an 18-200mm AF-S DX Nikkor, but would like something at the wider angle as my main subject will be cars.

Is there a lense out there that will support all the mechanisms that the Nikkor will support on my D5000?? I've seen reviews for Sigma and Tokina lenses but I'd rather ask the pro's or experienced photographers here.

Anyone have a 10-24mm AF-S DX Nikkor for less than $600? lol.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

I've heard many good reviews for the Sigma 10-20mm.

Quality glass is worth the money, and camera makers glass is not reverse engineered like the 3rd party stuff so forward compatibility is more assured.

I bought a like new, used AF-S 12-24mm f/4G for $650 off of amazon.com from a private seller about a year ago.

There are 3 of the AF-S 12-24 mm f/4G's listed on Amazon right now for $600, $664.99, and $665 with the last offered by the very reputable used camera gear seller, KEH.com

Quality glass is worth the money, and camera makers glass is not reverse engineered like the 3rd party stuff so forward compatibility is more assured.

I bought a like new, used AF-S 12-24mm f/4G for $650 off of amazon.com from a private seller about a year ago.

There are 3 of the AF-S 12-24 mm f/4G's listed on Amazon right now for $600, $664.99, and $665 with the last offered by the very reputable used camera gear seller, KEH.com