What makes a photo 'grainy/noisy' ?

MiiLovely

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
(hopefully I am posting this in the right section.. if not I am SO sorry!)

Anywho on to my question.. what makes photos grainy/noisy? Im just starting out and I know I havent got the hang of my camera settings yet but I was just wondering what I should focus on to get rid of the grainy-ness and most of the noise in my photos. Is it a certen setting Im dont have properly with the iso and appature? Or is it the kit lens I am using? (Im going to guess its the type of lens Im using but Id like to know exactly what makes a photo nice and sharpe and clean) thanks!

ISO is the main culprit usually. Lower ISOs have less noise/grain, and higher ISOs have more.

Also; in digital photography it's called noise and in film photography it's called grain, usually. :)

Plus, it is more evident in dark areas, so try to expose well your pictures, to avoid increasing brightness in postprocessing. Since you mention also "sharp", that's another story (motion blur, wrong focus, etc).

Also, if you haven't figured this out already... if you are shooting in low-light conditions, you/your camera will need to up the ISO accordingly especially if you are just using the kit lens. So if you are seeing noise under these conditions, that is definitely the culprit. Also pay attention to not underexpose as pointed out in the post above mine.

Thank you everyone, I completely forgot that even though my camera is a good camera it isnt magical and it needs helping producing good photos lol (ie good lighting!) lol