What should I look for in a Monopod?

Beautifile

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! I'm looking to buy a monopod to go along w/ my new camera (SONY RX100) for my upcoming trip to Paris. After doing some research, it looks like I need a monopod w/ a ball head, but here's my question: How hard is it to buy a decent but inexpensive monopod and replace the top w/ a ball head? I've read several people's comments that it's super easy, but one man said you need a special tool to replace a stationary head w/ a ball head. I have a ton of credit at Amazon.com, and on that site it works out much cheaper to buy an inexpensive monopod and ball head and piece them together oneself. Would this be a very complicated undertaking? Is it even a good idea? Any advice is appreciated as I've never used a monopod before and my tripod is about 2 lbs. heavier than what I'd be willing to carry around Paris. TIA.

Most monopods that I've seen have a standard sized screw at the top... same size used to attach heads to tripods. As such, very very easy to replace. For walking trips, I often get sore near my ankles so I use a gitzo monotrek which comes with a small ball head:

Series 1 Monotrek 3 Section GM1130MT - Monotrek Monopods | Gitzo

Mine has been slightly modified for pavement use by covering the metal tip with rubber. I remove it when I head through off-pavement trails.

This is a good place to get pointers on using one:

How To Use A Monopod & Multi-Purpose Tripod

You would need something like this for attach a regular ballhead.

Amazon.com: Promaster 3/8" to 1/4" Tripod Thread Adapter (3 Pack): Camera & Photo

or you could buy this combo;

Amazon.com: Dolica WT-1003 67-Inch Lightweight Monopod: Electronics

Amazon.com: Professional Mini Ball Head Camera Mount: Camera & Photo (this includes an adaptor already)

or go for a monopod with a ballhead

Dolica 68" Lightweight Monopod with Ball Head ST-1100 (backordered)