What shutter speed ( aperture) is best for this photos

michal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
newbie here :?
DAY:
somoeone on a bike, traffic
moving objects (flag, flower in the wind etc.)
water
pets / people in motion
fan / aircraft
photo out of the moving vechicle

NIGHT:
and object in low light level , exp. skyline at dusk , car headlights after dark.

That is a question that depends on the situation and what you want to capture...

During the day, you have quite a bit of creative control based upon shutter speed. In the example of someone on a bicycle, do you want to stop time and have everything crystal clear with no blur? If so, you probably want around 1/800 or above. If instead, you'd like to capture the feeling of speed with a little bit of blurring, you may want to slow things down to 1/60th or even slower (depending on the effect you want).

Remember that by changing the shutter speed, you'll also be adjusting the aperture to compensate for the change in light...which will change your depth of field. This is another area to keep in mind while selecting your shutter speed.

Although this topic isn't overly complicated, it is difficult to explain in a short post. I would suggest looking for some online photo tutorials by doing a google search. That may help with some of your questions, and we'll be happy to try to fill in any blanks or unanswered questions you may have!

Good luck and welcome to the forum!

ok michal - i'll bite for my first post

basically everything that chaseman said couldn't have been said better. but since i'am currently working on 2 of your areas (moving objects - bike, cars, motorcycles, etc., and low light shots - even 10pm city shots with the moon!) i'll put some input to help you. remember, these are basic techniques to help start your creative potential...

for moving objects -