when to use flash?

nyamy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've heard 'them' say (they not being pro's or anything) not to use flash if you can help it. and the truth is, once I disabled my flash on my p&s I started getting better shots (flash always seemed to wash out faces).

so the first thing I did when I got my canon xsi was disable the flash. now I'm rethinking...
if canon put a flash on the camera, there must be a time and place for it.

so when and how do you use your flash?

night time...sunny days with shadows...fill in flash im still a beginner also..correct me if im wrong

The only time I use on-camera flash (and sparingly, at that) is at reduced power for fill flash. I do most of my flash now with the off-camera 430EX. I just built a ringflash, but that's a different story.

I think the reason they put it on the camera is for those consumers who buy a camera and don't want to sink the money in for a flash.

If you want to learn about flash, check out the workshops on http://www.strobist.blogspot.com and they will give you more than you ever cared to know :)

Personally I try not to use flash as much as possible, I use natural lighting. (A controlled studio portraits is an exception for me) Im a photojournalist which doing this works great for me. Flash can be very destracting at times. However sometimes there is a need for flash, if the location you are shooting is too dark you will need a flash. It also helps freeze action. You can add gels and throw different colors into the photo for a desired effect. And much more. Every situation is unique its your call.