Where did my GREEN focus box go?!

Casey615

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all! I am an SLR newbie and have come to my first and most frustrating feeling of being "stumped". Here's the problem, I have a Canon EOS Rebel T3 which I have been shooting with for a solid two months now. I have not done anything different lately, nor changed any settings. I am an avid Viewfinder user, and almost never use the Live mode. However, for some reason when I starting taking pictures the other day, I noticed I no longer see the green focus box that always shows up when I look through the Viewfinder and hold the shutter half way. I can hear it and see it focusing, but there's no lovely green box showing me exactly what it's focusing on! I have searched the internet and read every part of the manual, but have found nothing. When I am in live mode, I do see the green box. I am under the impression that it's called the "magnifying" box or something similar? I mostly keep my camera on the Manual exposure or No flash setting when taking pictures, I am always on AF and Quick mode. Can anyone help me get my little green box back? :(

Green? In every camera I've had it's been red... :confused: green in live-view though.

Anyways... (some/most/all) canons don't display the active focus point in AI-servo mode. Try setting the focus mode back to 1-shot

BTW, quick mode only applies to live-view, not the viewfinder if you're talking about the setting I think you are.

Last edited:
Have you shifted to using spot focus - that would mean that only a single selected AF point is active and thus it only shows the little red dot. The square will be for other focusing modes which will have various selectable areas of the screen which will be active (the larger square showing all the active AF points which are running with the AF points within that block then showing the red dot when the focus lock is under them).