Where did you learn photography?

CleeM.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to this photography thing and I'm really starting to get into it. Sometimes i catch myself thinking, now that would be a good picture. So i was just wondering if you guys just learned as you went or if you have taken a course.

I picked it up myself when I took a the fall semester off last year. I'm self-taught, as I'm sure most of the others on the forum are, unless you count books, of course. :D

Never took any courses. Self read when it came to f-stops, etc. I truly believe real artistic expression cannot be taught. It can be helped along but not taught. If you can't carry a tune in a bucket, nobody is going to teach you to sing. Most of us aren't Ansel Adams so don't become discouraged. If you like your work that's all that really matters. My .02 pesos...

I am mostly self-taught also, though I had help from Scott (SpiralOut) :)
Also, "THe Joy of Digital Photography" is a very good, corny titled, extremely thorough book that I'd certainly recommend

erniehatt said:
I got most of what I know from books and magazines. Ernie

Me too lots books, mags & On-Line reading.... As well as lots and lots of hands on experience... That is the best way to learn - SNAP SNAP SNAP and keep on SNAPPING!!!

Read & Apply what you have read, thats what I do.... I just recently started a little notebook with different tips and techniques to keep in mind when shooting...

-iSellJerseyShore

I learnt the technical side in school and did a visual art course last year which had a photography class as part of it.

You'll continue learning as you go along. If you don't have a digital camera, write down the settings you use for each shot, so if something doesn't turn out right it's a bit easier to find out why, same goes for knowing why a shot did work..