which format

archer379

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I was wondering for a beginner like me should i be shooting in RAW or jpeg format?

I suggest shooting in RAW. There may be a bit of a learning curve with the workflow...but it's probably worth it.

Im a noob too, but if you plan on doing any type of post processing I would recommend RAW format. RAW stores the original metadata no matter what changes you make to the photo as well as being better to apply changes too, since its an uncompressed image.

This will undoubtedly turn into a RAW vs JPEG debate :D

If you can use RAW, do it. If you must use JPEG, you'll be no worse off. RAW is great because it allows you to make adjustments that don't harm the data. If you watch your histogram while editing a JPEG in Photoshop you'll see huge spikes and dips. This is because data is being destroyed.

That said, JPEG allows you a much faster frame rate, which is great if you're shooting fast paced action. It also takes up much less disk space, which is great if you have a small memory card or are shooting a lot of pictures in one go. You probably won't notice a difference in image quality between JPEG and RAW until you start making very big enlargements, and even then you might not see it. I shoot RAW because I have no reason not to, and because it makes it a bit easier (to me) to store an original file along with edits.

That said, JPEG allows you a much faster frame rate, which is great if you're shooting fast paced action. It also takes up much less disk space, which is great if you have a small memory card or are shooting a lot of pictures in one go.

Actually, every DSLR I've used in the past three years has the same FPS regardless of JPG or RAW, RAW files are larger and fill the buffer faster not allowing you to shoot as many photos in a burst.