Which option to buy?

sibebabe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok I have a dilemma! I need better editing software! I have Aperture love the Mac intergration but can no longer handle the limits on editing. I don't need much to edit clean edits shot in raw. A few brushes to touch up. I have desided that Adobe has so many brush and preset options also online free help! I have trialed lightroom and elements. Layers scare me I know when you understand them you have a whole new power in editing but I need to start slow! Aperture is all sliders and brushes. So the dilemma do I buy lightroom, elements or invest $20 a month for a year and try those two and Photoshop and then after a year make a better informed desision? I am a student so I get education cloud discount until end of nov. If I sign up soon. I know for $20 a month for a year I could buy elements and lightroom but it's easier to come up with $20 a mon then $80 a shot. And I'm afraid lightroom won't do enough, elements will be too over whelming that's why I think having access to both might be best!
So what's your experience? Love lightroom? Elements? Photoshop? All three? Using the cloud? I'm also worried I'll invest and the new version will come out. That is the advantage of the cloud! Thanks!

I use Lightroom for 90%+ of my edits. The only time I pull out Photoshop is if I need layers or have extensive cloning to do.

edit: I started out with a Macbook and used the (then available) Aperture trial. I liked it, but ultimately went with LR because that is what I was using in class, and I wanted to be consistent. I'm still with LR3, and really have no need to upgrade. I "lost" Photoshop when I switched from Mac to Windows (another story) and refuse to play the monthly charge game, but was able to get an older copy of elements. So far, it's been fine, except for panoramas, but there are other packages for that.

Last edited:
It's all you, Babe.

I/we have no idea what you'll need or use.